NEW MAC Conference

ID# 000123
Emerson College 120 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116-4624
United States
781-277-7317 (Main Phone)
866-550-0685 (Fax)
Category  Sport Specific
The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) is an association of 11 selective academic institutions that are committed to providing high quality competitive athletic opportunities for student-athletes within an educational and respectful environment that embodies the NCAA Division III philosophy.

The NEWMAC was established in 1998, when the former New England Women's 8 Conference (NEW 8) voted to begin sponsoring conference play and championships for men. At this time, the conference expanded its membership to include Springfield College and the United States Coast Guard Academy. Emerson College became the 11th full-time member of the conference on July 1, 2013.

The NEW 8 began play in 1985-86 as the New England Women's 6 Conference (NEW 6). Charter members were Babson College, Brandeis University, MIT, Smith College, Wellesley College and Wheaton College. Mount Holyoke College and WPI joined in 1988 and the name was changed to the NEW 8 Conference. At the conclusion of the 1994-95 academic year, Brandeis University withdrew from the NEW 8 to join the University Athletic Association and Clark University accepted membership, keeping the NEW 8's membership at eight institutions.
Facebook Twitter
View Count 4,714